Cong. Ron Paul to Interview Ivan Eland on C-SPAN



In addition to Senior Fellow Robert Higgs being spotlighted on C-SPAN2′s prestigious In Depth program starting Sunday April 5th, Senior Fellow Ivan Eland will be interviewed by former presidential candidate, Congressman Ron Paul, on C-SPAN2′s widely influential After Words program to discuss Dr. Eland’s new Independent Institute book Recarving Rushmore: Ranking the Presidents on Peace, Prosperity, and Liberty. Who were the best and worst U.S. presidents and how do George W. Bush and Barack Obama stack up in light of their presidential predecessors regarding whether their policies promote peace, prosperity, and liberty while upholding the Constitution all presidents are sworn to protect? Moreover, could traditionally revered presidents be actually among the worse? For example, did Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, Theodore Roosevelt, and Harry Truman adopt policies that led to economic hardship, unnecessary bloodshed, and the abuse of executive powers?

This program will air as follows:

Saturday, April 4, at 10:00 p.m. ET (7:00 p.m. PT)
Sunday, April 5, at 9:00 p.m. ET (6:00 p.m. PT)
Monday, April 6, at 3:00 a.m. ET (12:00 midnight PT)
Sunday, April 12, at 12:00 noon ET (9:00 a.m. PT)
Sunday, April 19, at 12:00 noon ET (9:00 a.m. PT)

In addition, Dr. Eland will be speaking at our Independent Policy Forum based on Recarving Rushmore, “What President Obama Should Learn from His Predecessors,” to be held April 7th in the Independent Institute’s Conference Center in Oakland, Calif. (reception at 6:30 p.m., program at 7:00 p.m.). Joining him to speak will be Stanford University political scientist Andrew Rutten, who is Associate Editor of our quarterly journal, The Independent Review. (Map and Directions)

Enjoy The Beacon? Help us inspire ideas on liberty with a tax-deductible contribution!
Comments
We invite your civil and thoughtful comments. The use of profanity or derogatory language may result in a ban on your ability to comment again in the future.